Department of Energy

Department of Energy


The Department of Energy’s (DOE) Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) was established by Section 2203 of the Energy Policy Act of 1992 (P.L. 102-486).  Positioned within the Office of Science at DOE, DOE EPSCoR assists the Office as the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States by supporting basic and applied research and development across a wide range of interdisciplinary program areas including:

  • Advanced Scientific Computing Research
  • Basic Energy Sciences
  • Biological and Environmental Research
  • Fusion Energy Sciences
  • High Energy Physics and Nuclear Physics 

The primary goals of DOE EPSCoR are three fold:

  • Improve the capability of designated states and territories to conduct sustainable and nationally competitive energy-related research; 
  • Jumpstart infrastructure development in designated states and territories through increased human and technical resources, train scientists and engineers in energy-related areas; and
  • Build beneficial relationships of designated states and territories with the 10 world-class laboratories managed by the Office of Science, leveraging DOE national user facilities and intellectual collaboration.

Through broadened participation DOE EPSCoR seeks to provide the most comprehensive network of energy-related research across the nation.


1.) Implementation Grants 

  • Provides up to $2,500,000 for three years with the possibility for a three year extension
  • Build capacity in areas of interest to DOE (listed above)

2.) EPSCoR-State/National Laboratory Partnership Grants 

  • Provides $200,000 per year for up to three years 
  • Allows EPSCoR researchers to work closely with the DOE national laboratories

3.) DOE Office of Science Early Career Awards

  • Consideration is limited to applications received from academic institutions in EPSCoR jurisdictions to the DOE Office of Science Early Career Award FOAs. 
  • DOE Program Area and/or Office may nominate meritorious applications that would not have been otherwise funded for joint funding consideration with DOE EPSCoR on a funds available basis.

Enacted Budgets

Fiscal Year Enacted Budget
FY2017 $15.0M
Cognizant Office
Office of Science
Program Officer

Dr. Timothy Fitzsimmons

Program Manager

U.S. Department of Energy
1000 Independence Ave, SW
Germantown Bldg, F-418
Washington, D.C. 20585
Agency Website
ex arrow-right check news twitter facebook